UK Theatre Awards 2017: Sharon D Clarke to Host - Nominations to be live streamed

UK Theatre Awards 2017

Olivier Award-winning actress Sharon D Clarke will host the UK Theatre Awards 2017.       

The UK Theatre Awards are the only nationwide Awards to honour and celebrate outstanding achievements in regional theatre, both on and off stage, throughout England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.  

This year’s UK Theatre Awards will take place at London’s historic Guildhall, on Sunday 15 October 2017.

Sharon D Clarke is an acclaimed theatre and television actress and singer. Her recent stage credits include playing the title role of Caroline in Caroline Or Change at The Minerva Chichester, which will transfer to the Hampstead Theatre in 2018, Sonja in The Life at Southwark Playhouse & Ma Rainey in Ma Rainey's Black Bottom at The National Theatre. She played Odessa in The National Theatre's production of The Amen Corner, for which she received an Olivier Award for Best Actress in a Supporting Role. In 2017 she was awarded an M.B.E in The Queen's New Year’s Honours List for Services To Drama.

Sharon D Clarke said: 

From musicals to plays, to opera and dance, the last year has seen incredible work performed on stages up and down the country. The UK is home to the greatest talents, both on and off stage, and I can’t wait to celebrate the industry’s phenomenal achievements in October.” 


Nominations to be announced on @TwitterStage on Thursday 14 September. 

Nominations for the UK Theatre Awards will be announced by UK Theatre Award winners Clare Burt (Best Performance In A Musical) and Rebecca Trehearn (Best Supporting Performance) on @TwitterStage on Thursday 14 September at 13:30.


More than 30,000 public votes have so far been cast this year for The UK's Most Welcoming Theatre Award with Smooth.

The vote gives the public the chance to celebrate their local theatre and the vital work they do in their communities. 

Voting closes at 12:00 on Tuesday 19 September. To cast a vote visit 


Sponsors of the UK Theatre Awards 2017 are:

  • Harbottle and Lewis
  • White Light
  • Smooth Radio
  • Theatre Tokens
  • Q-Park


UK Theatre Award Statue
Date Published: 11 September 2017
Magnifying Glass Icon
Search Articles
this needs content in to work - this will be hidden in the css

Get in touch

32 Rose Street
Covent Garden

+44 (0)20 7557 6700

  • Ecclesiastical
  • Yes Plan
  • Theatre Tokens
  • UK Theatre Insurance
  • Spektrix
"UK Theatre" is the operating name of UK Theatre Association, a company limited by guarantee registered in England and Wales, whose registered office is at 32 Rose Street, London, WC2E 9ET, Company No 323204.