Vanessa Redgrave to receive Gielgud Award: UK Theatre Awards 2016

Vanessa Redgrave to receive Gielgud Award: UK Theatre Awards 2016

Vanessa Redgrave CBE will receive The Gielgud Award for Excellence in the Dramatic Arts at this year's UK Theatre Awards.

Stage, screen and TV acress Vanessa Redgrave has starred in more than 35 productions in London’s West End and on Broadway, winning an Olivier Award, an Oscar, an Emmy, a Tony, a BAFTA, a Golden Globe, and a Screen Actors Guild award.

The Gielgud Award for Excellence in the Dramatic Arts was established by The Shakespeare Guild in 1994. Last year’s honour was given to Dame Eileen Atkins.

Olivier Award-winning actor Lesley Manville will compère the ceremony taking place on Sunday 9 October at London's Guildhall.

Vanessa Redgrave will join Sir Ian McKellen who will receive this year’s award for Outstanding Contribution To British Theatre.

Clare Burt and Richard Taylor, the composer of Sheffield Theatres’ Flowers For Mrs Harris, will perform at the ceremony. The show is nominated for Best Musical Production, Best Design and Best Performance In A Musical (Clare Burt).

The UK Theatre Awards are the only nationwide awards to honour creative excellence and the outstanding achievement seen on and off stage throughout England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. The full list of award nominations can be found here.

Vanessa Redgrave.jpg
Date Published: 05 October 2016
this needs content in to work - this will be hidden in the css

Get in touch

32 Rose Street
Covent Garden

+44 (0)20 7557 6700

  • Ecclesiastical
  • Yes Plan
  • Theatre Tokens
  • UK Theatre Insurance
  • Spektrix
"UK Theatre" is the operating name of UK Theatre Association, a company limited by guarantee registered in England and Wales, whose registered office is at 32 Rose Street, London, WC2E 9ET, Company No 323204.