About Judging Process

Application and Judging Process

Our awards are open to UK Theatre members working in both the commercial and subsidised sectors of the performing arts.



UK Theatre members can submit their own applications for the following four awards categories:

Promotion of DiversityTheatre Employee or Manager of the Year   
Achievement in MarketingThe Renee Stepham Award for Best Presentation of Touring Theatre   

Submissions open in early June, at which point application forms will be available to download here.   

The winners will be selected by the Management Panel.

In addition to the above awards, production category nominations are made and voted on by industry experts who have been invited to serve as panellists by the Chief Executive of UK Theatre.  There are three panels: Theatre, Opera and Dance 

Each panel judge the following categories:    

  • Best New Play
  • Best Musical Production    
  • Best Touring Production  
  • Best Show for Children and Young People
  • Best Director
  • Best Performance in a Play
  • Best Performance in a Musical
  • Best Supporting Performance
  • Best Design
  • Achievement in Opera
  • Achievement in Dance

These awards are open to UK Theatre members working in both the commercial and subsidised sectors of the performing arts. 

To be eligible for the production categories of UK Theatre Awards, a production has to be either produced by a UK Theatre member or seen in a UK Theatre member theatre or venue.   

There are a few exceptions which are not eligible:     

  • Amateur productions
  • Any production in London that has been eligible for the Olivier Awards (unless a production has transferred to London and has not yet been judged for the Olivier Awards at the date of the UK Theatre Awards)
  • Festival productions   


Most Welcoming Theatre Award 

The only award voted for by the public, this is an unparalleled opportunity for audiences to celebrate their local theatre.  Click here for more information.

Outstanding Contribution to British Theatre Award

The award for Outstanding Contribution to British Theatre is given by the invitation of the UK Theatre Board.       

Clothworkers' Award 

Launched in 2014, the Clothworkers’ Foundation makes an annual award of up to £150,000 to a regional producing theatre in England to 2018. Click here for more information.


UK Theatre Awards Panellists

Theatre Panel

Clare Brennan

Dominic Cavendish  

Mark Fisher

Sam Marlowe

Grania McFadden

Mark Shenton

Jane Tilling

Natasha Tripney

Chaired by Julian Bird


Opera Panel 

Anna Picard

Rupert Christiansen

George Hall

Chaired by Julian Bird


Dance Panel

Donald Hutera

Sanjoy Roy

Lyndsey Winship

Chaired by Roger Spence

Fiona Allan

Julian Bird

Dawn Farrow

Alistair Smith

Deborah Williams


this needs content in to work - this will be hidden in the css

Get in touch

32 Rose Street
Covent Garden

+44 (0)20 7557 6700

  • White Light
  • Charcoal Blue
  • Theatre Tokens
  • UK Theatre Insurance
  • Spektrix
  • John Good
"UK Theatre" is the operating name of UK Theatre Association, a company limited by guarantee registered in England and Wales, whose registered office is at 32 Rose Street, London, WC2E 9ET, Company No 323204.