Archive of Winners

UK Theatre Awards: 2022 Nominations

UK Theatre announces this year’s UK Theatre Awards, the only nationwide awards to honour and celebrate outstanding achievements in theatre throughout England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland by UK Theatre members.   

Congratulations to all our UK Theatre Awards 2022 nominees.  

Achievement in Dance

Ballet Black for William Tuckett's Then or Now exquisitely melding poetry, dance, light and sound into an intimate work that gently touches on big themes of our times

The dancers of Rambert for their ability to inhabit any choreographer's vision, as a company of unique, versatile, incredibly skilled performers

Dan Daw for The Dan Daw Show, a kinky, joyful, unapologetic and vulnerable celebration of oneself and one's body

Achievement in Opera

Glyndebourne for Poulenc Double Bill

Richard Mantle for the last year at Opera North, which epitomises the work Richard has achieved over his tenure

Music Theatre Wales and Britten Pears Arts for Violet, at Buxton International Festival at Buxton Opera

Scottish Opera for Candide

Best Design

Jon Bausor, Will Duke and Antony McDonald for Into The Woods, Theatre Royal Bath

Laura Hopkins and Simon Wainwright for Dracula: The Untold Story, Leeds Playhouse

Georgia McGuinness for Life is a Dream, Royal Lyceum Theatre

Best Director

Jessica Daniels for The Mozart Question, a Barn Theatre production in association with Bob & Marianne for Anthology Theatre and The Everyman Theatre Cheltenham 

Robert Hastie, Anthony Lau and Elin Schofield for Rock/Paper/Scissors, The Crucible, Studio and Lyceum Theatre, Sheffield

Natalie Ibu for The White Card, a Northern Stage, Birmingham Rep, Leeds Playhouse & Soho Theatre co-production in association with HOME Manchester

Róisín McBrinn for Typical Girls, a Clean Break and Sheffield Theatres co-production

Best Musical Production

Billy Elliot, Curve Theatre, Leicester

Now Is Good, Storyhouse, Chester

Whistle Down The Wind, The Watermill Theatre, Newbury

Best New Play

Cherry Jezebel, Liverpool Everyman Theatre

How To Bury A Dead Mule, Lyric Theatre Belfast

Mugabe, My Dad & Me, a co-production by ETT, Brixton House and York Theatre Royal in association with Alison Holder

Best Performance in a Musical

Charlie Stemp for Crazy For You, Chichester Festival Theatre

Divina de Campo for the Hedwig and the Angry Inch, a Leeds Playhouse and HOME Manchester co-production

Nicole & Kyla Fox, Eden & Emme Patrick and Savannah & Sienna Robinson for Identical, a Nottingham Playhouse and Kenny Wax Ltd co-production

Best Performance in a Play

Eithne Browne for Maggie May, Leeds Playhouse

Henry Goodman for Murder on the Orient Express, Chichester Festival 

Leah St Luce for Black Love, a Paines Plough and Belgrade Theatre Coventry production, in association with tiata fahodzi

Giles Terera for The Meaning of Zong, a Bristol Old Vic production

Best Play Revival

Jitney a Headlong Theatre, Leeds Playhouse and Old Vic production

The Mountaintop, a Royal Exchange Theatre production

Translations an Abbey Theatre and Lyric Theatre Belfast co-production

Best Show for Children & Young People

Beauty and the Beast, a New Vic production

Fantastically Great Women Who Changed The World, Kenny Wax Family Entertainment in association with MAST Mayflower Studios 

Petula, a National Theatre Wales, Theatr Genedlaethol Cymru and August012 co-production

Best Supporting Performance

Nicola Hughes for Into The Woods, a Theatre Royal Bath production

Robert Jackson for Brief Encounter, a Stephen Joseph Theatre, Octagon Theatre and Theatre By The Lake production

Nishla Smith for Kes, an Octagon Theatre and Theatre By The Lake co-production

Digital Innovation

Chichester Festival Theatre

English Touring Theatre

Sadler's Wells

Excellence in Arts Education

Ambassador Theatre Group

Lyric Theatre Belfast


Excellence in Inclusivity

English Touring Theatre

Graeae Theatre Company

Scottish Opera

Excellence in Touring

Graeae Theatre Company

Northern Ballet

Scottish Opera

Workforce Award

 Ambassador Theatre Group

Mercury Theatre

The Marlowe

Outstanding Contribution to British Theatre Award

The recipient of this year’s Outstanding Contribution to British Theatre Award has been revealed as Sarah Holmes, former CEO of the New Wolsey Theatre, Ipswich.

Sarah was selected by the board for constantly championing access and inclusion, spear-heading the post of Agent for Change and applying challenging criteria to her own programming policy with a “nothing about us, without us” policy around inclusion. Sarah’s tenure saw the New Wolsey become a founding partner on Black-led theatre initiative Eclipse, and D/deaf and disabled collective Ramps on the Moon, which has now been running for over 7 years.

UK's Most Welcoming Theatre Award 

Dundee Rep Theatre and Scottish Dance Theatre

Leeds Playhouse

The New Wolsey Theatre

this needs content in to work - this will be hidden in the css

Get in touch

32 Rose Street
Covent Garden

+44 (0)20 7557 6700

  • Ecclesiastical
  • Yes Plan
  • Theatre Tokens
  • UK Theatre Insurance
  • Spektrix
"UK Theatre" is the operating name of UK Theatre Association, a company limited by guarantee registered in England and Wales, whose registered office is at 32 Rose Street, London, WC2E 9ET, Company No 323204.