# All-Party Parliamentary Group for Theatre Minutes of the AGM held on 1 July 2019

### In attendance

Giles Watling MP (Chair)
Simon Hart MP
Lord Kerslake
Andrew Lewer MP
Stephen Metcalfe MP
Dan Russell, Giles Watling MP's office
Cassie Chadderton, SOLT and UK Theatre
Hannah Gagen, SOLT and UK Theatre
Annie Waugh, SOLT and UK Theatre
Ben Cook, External Affairs Officer, Southbank Centre
Saad Eddine Said, Artistic Director, (UpNext) Battersea Arts Centre

Apologies: Tracey Brabin MP (Co-Chair), Andrew Lewer MP

### Confirmation of APPG name and statement of purpose

 The name of the APPG was confirmed as the APPG for Theatre and the statement of purpose was agreed.

### **Election of officers**

- · Giles Watling MP was elected as Chair
- Tracey Brabin MP was elected as Co-Chair
- Lord Kerslake and Stephen Metcalfe MP were elected as Vice Chairs
- Since the AGM was held, Andrew Lewer MP has also been elected as a Vice Chair

## Secretariat introduction and definition of responsibilities

- Society of London Theatre (SOLT) and UK Theatre were introduced as the joint secretariat for the APPG for Theatre.
- The definition of the secretariat's responsibilities were agreed.

#### Possible future events

 A discussion was held around Parliamentarian's visits to theatres as part of the APPG, and a showcase launch event to help engage more MPs and Parliamentarians.

#### **AOB**

Possible future topics for the APPG were broadly discussed.