SOLT and UK Theatre congratulate members recognised in the King’s Birthday Honours List  

The Society of London Theatre (SOLT) and UK Theatre are delighted that two former SOLT presidents and a former UK Theatre Board member have been recognised in this year’s Kings Birthday Honours List for their services to theatre.  

Producer Kenny Wax received an MBE; Nica Burns, Chief Executive and co-owner of Nimax Theatres, was given a CBE; and former Newcastle Theatre Royal Chief Executive Philip Bernays was awarded an OBE. 

Nica Burns is a multi-award-winning producer. In 2008 she was elected President of SOLT for three years and Vice President 2011–2013. She was previously artistic director at the Donmar Warehouse and production director of Stoll Moss and Really Useful Theatres. She co-founded Nimax Theatres in 2005 and co-owns the Palace, Lyric, Apollo, Garrick, Vaudeville and Duchess theatres. Her newest venue, @sohoplace has been a pioneer of access both on and off stage. Nica has previously received an OBE for her services to Theatre. 

Kenny Wax joined the Board of SOLT in 2015 and was elected to the presidency in 2017. His term as president ended in November 2020, but he continued to provide critical advice and leadership as Vice-President until June 2023. His productions have won Olivier Awards in the categories of Best Musical, Best Comedy, Best Children and UK Theatre Award and Best Family Entertainment. He is well known for his work with new writers. He supported and brought recognition to the Mischief Theatre Company and worked closely with Toby Marlow and Lucy Moss, making Six into a worldwide hit. 

As a UK Theatre board member, Philip Bernays was incredibly active in union negotiation committees. He was Chief Executive of Newcastle Theatre Royal for 15 years before retirement. During his career he was also General Manager of Actors Touring Company, Executive Director of the Young Vic, and Chief Executive of the Everyman Theatre.  

Reacting to the news, SOLT and UK Theatre Co-CEO Claire Walker said, “I am delighted that three of our members have received honours in recognition of their work. They have dedicated their careers to advocating for the theatre sector and have been a true asset to our organisations.”  

Join our network of theatre professionals